May 26, 2022
Kelly Coldiron, Executive Director
Tel. 202-262-0772
Washington D.C.,- In the wake of recent mass shootings in Buffalo, New York and Uvalde, Texas, NaFFAA–the nation’s largest Filipino civic engagement and advocacy organization–stands in firm solidarity with the African-American and Latino communities who have been greatly affected by the heinous violence.
The United States has seen more than 200 mass shootings this year alone, with the recent shooting at Robb Elementary being the 27th school shooting in 2022. 
Brendan Flores, President and Chairman of NaFFAA, released the following statement: 
“We are heartbroken over yesterday’s shooting at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, the second mass shooting in just 10 days after the tragedy in Buffalo. The pain from these recent incidents transcends age, political affiliation, and race–our whole community joins together in mourning.
“Our hearts and prayers go out to the families in mourning. The Filipino community knows from too many past experiences, especially in the recent uptick of Asian hate crimes, that support is what is necessary for gradual healing. Through the Hate Crimes Task Force, NaFFAA will continue to work to deliver a network of contacts and resources for support whenever needed.
“These occurrences cannot continue to go unaddressed. We call on our elected officials to provide better quality and broader access to mental health resources. We call on our elected officials to pass common sense measures that defend the most vulnerable facets of our communities. We call on our elected officials to prioritize protecting the beautiful diversity of this country.”
Since 1997, the National Federation of Filipino American Associations (NaFFAA) has been the standard-bearer for promoting the welfare and well-being of the four million Filipinos and Filipino Americans throughout the United States. NaFFAA is the largest non-partisan, non-profit organization and national affiliation of Filipino American institutions, umbrella organizations, and individuals. Its fourteen-member regions cover the continental United States, Alaska, Hawaii, and the Pacific Islands.